How to Create an Under Construction Page
With Jimdo, any changes you make to your site go live immediately. No publishing necessary. If you're just starting out, you may not want your "work in progress" visible to the outside quite yet. If you'd prefer to keep your work under wraps for a while, there are two options to create an Under Construction page on your website.
Put your website in Under Construction Mode
This option is available for Pro and Business package customers, and is ideal for new websites. Under Construction Mode basically lets you take your website offline while you work on it. You’ll be able to edit the site as you normally would, but no one from the outside world will be able to view it. Instead, they’ll be greeted with an “Under Construction” page that looks something like this (and you can customize the message):
Activating Under Construction Mode
To activate Under Construction Mode, log in to your Jimdo website and go to Settings > Privacy & Security > Under Construction Mode. Switch "Activate Under Construction Mode" to "On" and hit "Save" to take your website offline. You also have the option to customize the text that appears on your Under Construction page. Plus, you can choose to add a contact button to the page. Visitors will then still be able to reach out to you even while your site is offline.
What happens to your SEO while your site is offline?
Taking your site offline can have an impact on your SEO over time. While your site is offline, Google and other search engines can’t crawl it, and they might eventually remove it from their search results.
If your site is brand new, you don’t have anything to worry about. It takes a while for Google to index new websites, so your site likely hasn’t appeared in any search results yet. You haven’t really built up any SEO juice yet so you don’t have any to lose.
If you have an existing website that’s already appearing in search, it’s possible to lose some of your ranking if you’re offline for a long time. It all depends on how long you plan to take your site offline and how popular the site already is—if you’re just planning a weekend project, chances are good that search engine crawlers won’t visit your site in that time, and won’t notice that you’re offline. If you’re planning a longer hiatus, it could start to temporarily impact your ranking. Learn more about how search engines work.
Putting your site back online
Is your site ready to share with your adoring public? Great! Log in to your Jimdo website and go to Settings > Website > Under Construction Mode to turn off Under Construction Mode and put your site back online. Your website will immediately be accessible for anyone that has the link to your website.
Manually create an Under Construction page while your site is online
If you're a Free package customer, or if you'd prefer to leave your site online while you work on it, you can build your own Under Construction page manually. Here's how:
Step 1: Add a new page called "Under Construction"
Click Edit Navigation, then add a new page and name it Under Construction. Make this the home page of your site by clicking the up arrow next to it until it reaches the top of the list, as in the screenshot below.
Step 2: Hide the other pages of your website
Hide the other pages of your site by clicking the eyeball icon next to each of them. You'll still be able to see these pages when you edit your site, so you'll be able to work on them even though your visitors can't see them.
Keep in mind that hidden pages are just hidden from your homepage, but they still exist online. This means that anyone who types in the the direct URL can still see the page, e.g. yoursite.com/contact.
Note: Any content in your site's Sidebar will show up on every page, including the Under Construction page. You may want to remove this content from the sidebar until you're ready to launch your site.
Step 3: Write a message on your new Under Construction page
On your new Under Construction page, add a Text Element with a message to let visitors know that your site is still a work-in-progress, something like "Stay tuned, this website is coming soon." If possible, let people know when you expect the website to be finished, and give them a way to contact you in the meantime.
Step 4: Finish work on your site, and then unhide your pages
When you're done making changes, un-hide all of the hidden pages and delete your Under Construction page by clicking Edit Navigation and then selecting the trashcan icon next to that page.
Note: In addition to hiding your pages, you can also set them as Password-Protected Areas so that no one can access them even if they know the direct URL. Go to Settings > Website > Password-Protected Areas to set this up.